HungryGoWhere Singapore Food Guide, Restaurants, Eating Guide and Reviews - HGW
Search the site
75%100%122 votes

(Closed) Phad Thai

AsianThai
+65 68849480
$21 based on 122 submissions
Dinner (15 votes), Hidden Find (10 votes), Large Groups/Gathering (10 votes)
XinLi88

Decent Phad Thai but Slightly Pricey.

Phad Thai wasn't bad. I am not sure about the authenticity since that can be rather subjective. Their Phad Thai with Fresh Shrimps was good it has a hefty price tag of 12.00 SGD. The noodles has a nice wok hei flavour and comes with crushed nuts, chilli flakes and shrimp was succulent.

The let down however was the Thai Calamari which was just batter with tasteless squid.

Green Curry was rather disappointing too. With a 12.00 SGD price tag, the vegetables in it was undercooked and the portion was tiny even for one. The accompanying plate of rice was slightly dry too. On the positive side, the curry has a nice balance between of coconut milk and herbal flavours

Personally, I say just go for the phad thai (and mango sticky rice if available) if you are fine with the price tag. Their Thai Ice Milk Tea is exceedingly sweet (you have been warned!)

http://the4moose.blogspot.sg/2013/06/phad-thai-mackenzie-road.html

The HGW community like this place for...

  • phad thai7 votes
  • Phad Thai Red Duck Curry6 votes
  • Stuffed Chicken Wings4 votes
  • Khao Phad Gai3 votes
  • fish cakes3 votes
Community submitted Favourites:
Overall
Based on 122 votes
Food/Drink
Value
Ambience
Service
Phad Thai
25 Jun 2013 • 130 reviews • 8 followers

Decent Phad Thai but Slightly Pricey.

Phad Thai wasn't bad. I am not sure about the authenticity since that can be rather subjective. Their Phad Thai with Fresh Shrimps was good it has a hefty price tag of 12.00 SGD. The noodles has a nice wok hei flavour and comes with crushed nuts, chilli flakes and shrimp was succulent.

The let down however was the Thai Calamari which was just batter with tasteless squid.

Green Curry was rather disappointing too. With a 12.00 SGD price tag, the vegetables in it was undercooked and the portion was tiny even for one. The accompanying plate of rice was slightly dry too. On the positive side, the curry has a nice balance between of coconut milk and herbal flavours

Personally, I say just go for the phad thai (and mango sticky rice if available) if you are fine with the price tag. Their Thai Ice Milk Tea is exceedingly sweet (you have been warned!)

http://the4moose.blogspot.sg/2013/06/phad-thai-mackenzie-road.html
07 Jun 2013 • 1 review • 0 follower

not a single bit of Thai taste

Ordered a few dishes - Thai style fried rice, honey chix, pineapple rice... I do not find it a Thai at all!!! Worst than a Chinese cooking. Not worth. Waste my stomach space.
The management of Phad Thai responded to this review:
10 Jun 2013
Hi there,

Sorry you had a terrible time at Phad Thai.

You may have wondered why the food you ate wasn't your normal tasting Thai food. :) we actially specialize in Chiang Mai style cooking which is generally the same as normal Thai Food, just not as spicy.

We hope you will give Phad Thai another go and we're really sorry you had a terrible time.

Management@Phad Thai
24 Mar 2013 • 1 review • 0 follower

Amazing, authentic Thai food

When I called the first time to make a reservation, the man who picked up the phone spoke Thai and didn't know enough English to take my reservation. Very Good Sign.

The phad thai with prawn ($9) was delicious and the noodles had bite. The green curry chicken ($9.90) was creamy and aromatic and the chicken was still tender. The eggplant with minced chicken ($8.90) was smokey and melting-- we couldn't get enough of it! Even though the portions werent huge, we left feeling very satisfied with both the quantity and quality of the food.

The only let down of the meal was the Fire Kang Kong which was healthy (i.e., not the dry, greasy, fried sambal kang kong we were expecting). It was light, with a gravy that consisted mostly of vegetable juices and sliced chili padi. Not unpleasant, but not very exciting.

The mango salad, though tasty, was rather small and we wished we'd ordered another curry or the basil chicken stir fry instead.

We'll definitely be back to try the other menu items we missed!
01 Jan 2013 • 2 reviews • 0 follower

neighbourhood friendly type restaurant

Good food. Relax environment. Watching the world goes by while enjoying the delicious Thai food. Free parking right opposite to the restaurant after 5pm.
01 Jan 2013 • 2 reviews • 0 follower

neighbourhood friendly type restaurant

Good food. Relax environment. Watching the world goes by while enjoying the delicious Thai food. Free parking right opposite to the restaurant after 5pm.