Search Restaurant

Reviews

48%100%19
Overall Rating
Food/Drink
Ambience
Value
Service
Price Range

$63/pax

based on 21 reviews
Suitable For
Lunch8 votes
Dinner7 votes
Business Dining6 votes
Children/Family6 votes
Large Groups/Gathering4 votes
Quiet4 votes
Fine Dining3 votes

See more

Book Now
0 / 3000 charactersLogin

What others are saying...

Jeanette Peh
 • 26 Oct 2014 3 reviews 0 follower
Overall
Food/Drink
Ambience
Value
Service
I bought the groupon voucher for the 9 course meal.

the food is very nice and the portion is quite big.
very worth the deal.

however we need to pay additional for the Chinese tea, peanuts & other
Read MoreHide

Must tries: Braised Er fu noodles

I also recommend this place for:
Children/Family, Dinner

0 people found this review helpful

Was it helpful to you? Yes

chefquak
 • 19 Oct 2014 211 reviews 1 follower
Overall
Food/Drink
Ambience
Value
Service
ee my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/10/19/good-5-course-dinner-ah-yat-abalone-forum-restaurant-on-18oct2014/

had 3pax dinner at ah yat abalone forum restaurant at hotel grand pacific last evening on 18.10.2014. :

last time i came here was when a friend had his birthday dinner on 16.7.2014.
#1 the soup was good. the lobster claw was quite tasteless, but the soup stock was good & tasty.  i felt that the cooking here at ah yat abalone was generally better than the other ah yat outlets.
#2 braised abalone & mushroom in brown sauce was very good.  abalone was 2in size & had excellent texture & bite. the brown sauce was excellent!
was not expecting much with the #3 fish fillet japanese style but it was good. fish was firm & bouncy & batter was  good. the sauce was just right & not overpowering.
& i finished the entire #4 braised yee keen noodles despite my usual low carb preference, meaning it was good. very tasty for a plain vegetarian dish! excellent! :-)
desssrt was a #5 bird’s nest in almond cream. it was competent but bird’s nest does not register much with me, non descriptor. almond cream was smooth. maybe i would be able to taste the smoothness better w/o the bird’s nest.
for this dinner, i bought 3 S$28.80pax groupon vouchers. there was a S2.50pax cover charge for tea & towels & a S$3 charge for peanuts (both compulsory charges whether you took or not), which came up to S$12.95. so in total we paid S$33nett pax for the 5-course dinner. quite a good deal.
Read MoreHide

0 people found this review helpful

Was it helpful to you? Yes

chefquak
 • 17 Jul 2014 211 reviews 1 follower
Overall
Food/Drink
Ambience
Value
Service
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/07/17/a-close-friends-birthday-dinner-ah-yat-abalone-forum-on-16jul2014/

a close friend celebrating his birthday. normally we would buy dinner. but this time somehow he bought some groupon deal & insisted on buying dinner @ ah yat abalone forum at hotel grand pacific on 16.7.2014. we bought him a cake instead. 

i had not been to ah yat abalone forum (but was a regular visitor to ah yat turf city for past many years until about 2 years ago), so this was a good choice for me to try out the food here. 

#1 the sharkskin soup was very good (a surprise actually as usually sharkskin in such sets are no better than, or i should say usually poorer than a good lie tong), a very tasty stock, and much better than ah yat turf city
#2 sliced chicken with veg – this had to be the poorest in the set, quite edible but essentially a nothing dish, i guess understandably to make up the numbers…haha. 
#3 the deep-fried fish fillet with thai sauce was again above my expectation. i had this couple times at chao yue xuan (a ah yat group restaurant at mohamed sultan) & they were mostly sickly sweet. this one was crispy & good. 
there is nothing to say about the #4 chinese cabbage with golden mushrooms, competent like any usual veg accompanying a set.
#5 the baked rice with small abalones & mushroom was good. came with 3 small abalones & a thick slice mushroom. 
#6 glass jelly with dried longans was i guess better than the red beans, green beans often served at ah yat turf city & chao yue xuan just to make up the numbers for the set. 
a friend went to pick up a nice looking cake from flo at taka food hall. 
the groupon was i think S$29.80, which i considered a rather good deal for the quality of food, better than ah yat turf city S$156 for 4pax set on account of the much better quality sharkskin & baked abalone rice but not better than chao yue xuan’s S$38pax 8-course set.
Read MoreHide

I spent $33 per person.

0 people found this review helpful

Was it helpful to you? Yes