Search Restaurant

Reviews

Back to Petite MenuLevel 1, Aqueen Lavender Hotel, 139 Lavender...
100%100%9
Overall Rating
Food/Drink
Ambience
Value
Service
Price Range

$35/pax

based on 9 reviews
Top Must Try Dishes
Blackforest3 votes
Suitable For
Birthdays4 votes
Anniversary3 votes
0 / 3000 charactersLogin

What others are saying...

chefquak
 • 10 Apr 2014 171 reviews 1 follower
Overall
Food/Drink
Ambience
Value
Service
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/04/10/return-to-petite-menu-on-8apr2014/

went back to petite menu with my RI buddies for 7pax dinner on 8.4.2014. kind of soon as i just had a great dinner here at petite menu on 22.3.2014, but enjoyed just as much. 
we all decided to take the S$36 4-course tasting menu since it featured the restaurants’ signature dishes. it came with the lavendar pumpkin soup, smoked duck salad, a choice of mains = pan-seared seabass or chicken leg confit, and the deconstructed blackforest.
we asked if some would like to try the ribeye, they could top-up the S$5 difference (ribeye was S$20 & the seabass & chicken confit were S$15 on the menu). the restaurant was under no obligation of course to consent to our requests (& we were ok if they were unable) but for this time they agreed. so 2 took the chicken confit, 1 took the seabass & 4 had the ribeye.
#1 this the second time i had the lavendar pumpkin soup. everyone agreed the lavendar fragrance was overpowering (like eating perfume) but the soup turned out to be quite good when eaten with the wakame seafood. the crunchy granny smith apple balls added some unusual texture. everyone quite liked/didn’t mind it. 
#2 smoked duck salad – duck was good (a bit salty), tomatoes good with mesclun salad & some dollops of creme fraiche.
#3 the chicken confit (rather unusual) looked & smelled excellent, and came with purple cabbage & pumpkin puree. 1 friend said it was very tender. 
#3 the pan seared seabass with quinoa salad was also par excellence! i thought the taste & texture of fish was very good (usually seabass has mud taste & falling apart meat texture), the foam, the flavour of sauce, the artisan presentation which enhanced the flavours & dining experience made it on par with most fine dining restaurant standard. 
#3 the ribeye was a large serving for S$20, but it was quite disappointing. i had a very good onglet (hanger steak) here at last visit & ribeye is a better cut than hanger steak so i was expecting better. the cooking was actually ok, the browning (searing) & the medium rare doneness were ok, but the quality of the cut was not great. 1 friend left 2/3 of the steak with tendons etc though i finished mine completely. also the seabass was very good here so i would not order the ribeye next time.
my friends were impressed with the dessert. the deconstructed blackforest was excellent. we ordered 2 servings of kaya toast to share & they all liked it too except 1 friend commented the helping was too small c/w the blackforest.
the bill came to S$48nett pax, including 4x top-ups & 2 extra orders of kaya toast. everyone was full & happy!
Read MoreHide

I spent $48 per person.

0 people found this review helpful

Was it helpful to you? Yes

chefquak
 • 27 Mar 2014 171 reviews 1 follower
Overall
Food/Drink
Ambience
Value
Service
ee my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/03/23/excellent-dinner-petite-menu-aqueen-hotel-on-22mar2014/

booked a 4pax dinner on 22.3.2014.
parking was horrendous. it was not something unexpected though. i had called to ask for directions to the car park & was warned that there were few lots. i followed the directions & entered from tyrwhitt road behind the hotel at 7.30pm but could not find any carpark. after dropping the others, my daughter & i circled the area & finally was lucky to find a just vacated lot along a row of shophouses at king george avenue.
well, i guess it was worth the trouble. the quality of food at petite menu & artisan presentation was outstanding really for the price.  
we decided to order 2 Restaurant Week sets & i replaced my salmon with lavendar pumpkin soup.
the smoked salmon was excellent – sweet, light, not salty. 
the duck salad was very good standard even though by comparison, the salmon was better. the duck was done nicely, tender & flavourful, tomatoes were sweet & plating outstanding, and it was only S$11.
the lavendar soup was strange (some might say interesting or unique). lavendar was overpowering but taste, texture combination was ok when combined with the wakami seaweed.
the hanger steak was a good helping, medium rare, tender & flavourful, i would have preferred more charred, the sauce was good & so the presentation (above & top photos). overall quite excellent. i asked the waiting staff how this stood up with the S$20 torched ribeye steak on the menu. he thought the ribeye was even better.
my daughters ordered 2 main courses, mushroom risotto & salted soft shell crab fettucine, which were popular dishes here.
both were very good. risotto was slightly wet but very tasty, texture a bit past al dente. the fusion salted egg soft shell crab pasta was very good. it reminded us of laksa pesto, one of the early fusion pasta which we first tried (like >10years ago) at willin low’s wild rockets. i will probably try making this at home.
our 2 RW sets came with dessert & coffee so we picked 2 deconstructed blackforest cakes. it was excellent, the chocolate, cream, pitted cherries, and the soil that came in a tiny planter to be emptied over the cake. pretty, delicious & fun.  
for the free dessert we ordered kaya toast. it was again very well plated, very fusion & artisan, with green kaya, toast and expresso in the middle. like the lavendar soup soup, i did not dislike the dish, it was good, ok, but not something that attracted me to order again.
overall the food was not just looking nice but actually good tasting which to me was most important, so the delightful presentation enhanced the dining experience. a S$20 ribeye (if it is same or better than the onglet steak) is good value, & the risotto & pasta dishes at S$14 & S$15 were all quite outstanding for the price. likewise the blackforest cake. there is also a $15 pan-seared seabass (which i don’t mind trying) & chicken leg confit. 
will be back!
Read MoreHide

I spent $33 per person.

0 people found this review helpful

Was it helpful to you? Yes

omgggsohungry
 • 11 Mar 2014 27 reviews 0 follower
Overall
Food/Drink
Ambience
Value
Service
Place was very quiet, but it’s okay I don’t mind having the whole place to myself. Everyone should come here and try the food though – it’s worth the walk/ ride in the hot sun and worth the trip out of town. VERY GOOD, VERY AFFORDABLE, NOTHING MUCH TO FAULT.

Chicken confit was brilliant and so was the deconstructed Blackforest :)

Click here for more: http://omgsohungry.wordpress.com/2014/03/11/petite-menu-jalan-besar/
Read MoreHide

I spent $20 per person.

0 people found this review helpful

Was it helpful to you? Yes