HungryGoWhere Singapore Food Guide, Restaurants, Eating Guide and Reviews - HGW
Search the site

Reviews for Petite Menu

International
chefquak

Return to Petite Menu on 8Apr2014

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/04/10/return-to-petite-menu-on-8apr2014/

went back to petite menu with my RI buddies for 7pax dinner on 8.4.2014. kind of soon as i just had a great dinner here at petite menu on 22.3.2014, but enjoyed just as much. 
we all decided to take the S$36 4-course tasting menu since it featured the restaurants’ signature dishes. it came with the lavendar pumpkin soup, smoked duck salad, a choice of mains = pan-seared seabass or chicken leg confit, and the deconstructed blackforest.
we asked if some would like to try the ribeye, they could top-up the S$5 difference (ribeye was S$20 & the seabass & chicken confit were S$15 on the menu). the restaurant was under no obligation of course to consent to our requests (& we were ok if they were unable) but for this time they agreed. so 2 took the chicken confit, 1 took the seabass & 4 had the ribeye.
#1 this the second time i had the lavendar pumpkin soup. everyone agreed the lavendar fragrance was overpowering (like eating perfume) but the soup turned out to be quite good when eaten with the wakame seafood. the crunchy granny smith apple balls added some unusual texture. everyone quite liked/didn’t mind it. 
#2 smoked duck salad – duck was good (a bit salty), tomatoes good with mesclun salad & some dollops of creme fraiche.
#3 the chicken confit (rather unusual) looked & smelled excellent, and came with purple cabbage & pumpkin puree. 1 friend said it was very tender. 
#3 the pan seared seabass with quinoa salad was also par excellence! i thought the taste & texture of fish was very good (usually seabass has mud taste & falling apart meat texture), the foam, the flavour of sauce, the artisan presentation which enhanced the flavours & dining experience made it on par with most fine dining restaurant standard. 
#3 the ribeye was a large serving for S$20, but it was quite disappointing. i had a very good onglet (hanger steak) here at last visit & ribeye is a better cut than hanger steak so i was expecting better. the cooking was actually ok, the browning (searing) & the medium rare doneness were ok, but the quality of the cut was not great. 1 friend left 2/3 of the steak with tendons etc though i finished mine completely. also the seabass was very good here so i would not order the ribeye next time.
my friends were impressed with the dessert. the deconstructed blackforest was excellent. we ordered 2 servings of kaya toast to share & they all liked it too except 1 friend commented the helping was too small c/w the blackforest.
the bill came to S$48nett pax, including 4x top-ups & 2 extra orders of kaya toast. everyone was full & happy!
Have something to say? Write a review.
10 Apr 2014 • 214 reviews • 1 follower

Return to Petite Menu on 8Apr2014

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/04/10/return-to-petite-menu-on-8apr2014/

went back to petite menu with my RI buddies for 7pax dinner on 8.4.2014. kind of soon as i just had a great dinner here at petite menu on 22.3.2014, but enjoyed just as much. 
we all decided to take the S$36 4-course tasting menu since it featured the restaurants’ signature dishes. it came with the lavendar pumpkin soup, smoked duck salad, a choice of mains = pan-seared seabass or chicken leg confit, and the deconstructed blackforest.
we asked if some would like to try the ribeye, they could
27 Mar 2014 • 214 reviews • 1 follower

Good Food, Artisan Presentation, Great Prices

ee my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/03/23/excellent-dinner-petite-menu-aqueen-hotel-on-22mar2014/

booked a 4pax dinner on 22.3.2014.
parking was horrendous. it was not something unexpected though. i had called to ask for directions to the car park & was warned that there were few lots. i followed the directions & entered from tyrwhitt road behind the hotel at 7.30pm but could not find any carpark. after dropping the others, my daughter & i circled the area & finally was lucky to find a just vacated lot along a row of shophouses at king george avenue.
well, i guess it wa
11 Mar 2014 • 27 reviews • 0 follower

Great food at extremely good prices

Place was very quiet, but it’s okay I don’t mind having the whole place to myself. Everyone should come here and try the food though – it’s worth the walk/ ride in the hot sun and worth the trip out of town. VERY GOOD, VERY AFFORDABLE, NOTHING MUCH TO FAULT.

Chicken confit was brilliant and so was the deconstructed Blackforest :)

Click here for more: http://omgsohungry.wordpress.com/2014/03/11/petite-menu-jalan-besar/