HungryGoWhere Singapore Food Guide, Restaurants, Eating Guide and Reviews - HGW
Search the site
65%100%14 votes

Quayside Fish Bar & Bistro

AustralianSeafoodWestern
Quayside Fish Bar & Bistro offers daily specials that are meticulously prepared to highlight the natural flavors of the sea by using the freshest imported ingredients. Its signature dishes include the Chili Crab Pasta and the Ol' Classic Fish and Chips.

Mon - Thu: 12:00 - 00:00

Fri - Sat: 12:00 - 01:00

Sun: 12:00 - 00:00

Closed: Mon

+65 62688633
$53 based on 14 submissions
Alfresco/Outdoor Dining (9 votes), After Work (7 votes), Ala Carte (6 votes)
Reuben Tan

consistently good

A huge improvement these days; the service staff really go above and beyond (service has always been a plus point), and perhaps more importantly the revamped kitchen team have been getting rave reviews. The Boston lobster thermidor I had yesterday was fantastic; lots more interesting seafood available on display at the seafood counters.

The same dude below who wrote 2 negative reviews (seriously?) probably just went to the wrong place.

The HGW community like this place for...

  • chilli crab linguine3 votes
  • beer battered cod fish2 votes
  • freshly shucked oysters2 votes
  • Tiger Beer Battered Turbot1 vote
  • chilli1 vote
  • lobster roll1 vote
  • pan roasted black cod1 vote
  • Read more Must-try Dishes
Community submitted Favourites:
Overall
Based on 14 votes
Food/Drink
Value
Ambience
Service
23 Dec 2014 • 1 review • 28 followers

consistently good

A huge improvement these days; the service staff really go above and beyond (service has always been a plus point), and perhaps more importantly the revamped kitchen team have been getting rave reviews. The Boston lobster thermidor I had yesterday was fantastic; lots more interesting seafood available on display at the seafood counters.

The same dude below who wrote 2 negative reviews (seriously?) probably just went to the wrong place.
19 Dec 2014 • 13 reviews • 0 follower

great service as always, much improved food and drinks

Came back to Quayside Isle again over the weekend, and to QSFB. The menu has changed since my last visit, and they are now featuring some interesting items. The lobster roll was heavenly.. not exactly cheap at $49, but you get what you pay for - fresh, whole chunks of lobster in a succulent sauce and buttered bun. Lot's of new interesting cocktails as well, including some sake based ones that are very unique.

My partner ordered the chilli crab linguine (again) and we shared a snapper pie- both these items we ordered before, and we were unanimous in agreement that the quality had really improved alot since our past visit.

Service has always been excellent, with friendly helpful staff going above and beyond to assist in whatever way possible. Can't understand what the negative reviews are about- seeing as they are all written by "reviewers" with no other reviews, can't help but think that these individuals set up an account just to bad mouth the outlet. Competitors perhaps.
18 Dec 2014 • 1 review • 0 follower

Tasteless, Overpriced, and Poor Service

My friend and I went to Quayside Fish Bar & Bistro for lunch on a weekday earlier this week - and we would not come back: briefly, the food was tasteless and overpriced with poor service.

To start with, the location and ambience of this place are excellent. Nestled in the beautiful yacht berth with a noteworthy view of the sea, this place definately offers you the out-of-Singapore feeling whilst dining there. And unfortunately that is the only good thing we can say about this place.

Let's begin with the food. The beer battered fish with shoestring "truffle" friest was simply a glorified food court-standard fish and chips. The batter of the fish was tasteless, and the fries was soggy - put simply, you'll be better off with mcdonald fries. Is this a few bad apple? No. The snapper pie was equally tasteless. It arrived cold. Yes, it was hot on the outside, but the soup inside was cold. Maybe the microwave was having a bad day, but at least we now know they served microwaved food. Upon our feedback, the food was remicrowaved - well done, they know now how long does it take to thaw the frozen food. 

The service does not lose out with the quality of the food too. In fact, maybe the service was worse. We could even hear one of the waiter (or manager, but well it does not matter) uttering vulgarity a few times to each other. Well, perhaps they were trying to show off their vocabulary and diction to the small kids there.

And for the tasteless food-court quality food and some vulgarities, you will be charged 35++ per person (food only, without beverage). 

The management of Quayside Fish Bar & Bistro responded to this review:
30 Dec 2014
Dear Anton Anton,
Thanks for the detailed feedback. We are glad you enjoy the ambiance of our outlet and surroundings, and read with concern your comments- we have gone through each point during our internal meeting.
On behalf of my staff, I would like to apologise if your experience was not up to expectations. Guests are allowed to return dishes not to their satisfaction, for a new item. At no time does QSFB microwave any items. The fish in our popular fish & chips is airflown halibut, served fresh such that the texture is firm and fluffy. Service standards are important at QSFB, and it is one reason that many regulars return time and time again. Vulgarities are not tolerated at any time; should we hear of this, the staff in question will be warned and/or dismissed.
Again, we thank you for your feedback, and hope that we will be given a chance to change your impression. Kindly look for our outlet manager Manoj, who will be sure to look after your table well.
Ash, General Manager
12 Dec 2014 • 1 review • 0 follower

Do not bother making reservation - unfair restaurant unpleasent experience

Made a reservation but waitress did not ask for our name. Just shove us to a table sharing with other people? Utterly rude and did not even ask if we are fine with this arrangement. However, other patrons can walk in and have their own private table. Waitress even provide armchairs for others who came in later than us. What do we get? Plastic chairs. Never mind about that, the couple beside have an extra chair to put bag. I have to CARRY on my lap. Furthermore, others who walk in later have their food first. We just have to walk out and go elsewhere. This kind of lousy service do not deserve my money. Do NOT even bother asking us to return and give you another chance. You already wasted our $5+ to drive in and park for nothing!!!! So pissed. What a terrible experience to ruin my birthday. THANKS. I will DEFINITELY spread this ONCE IN A LIFE TIME experience with everyone :)
The management of Quayside Fish Bar & Bistro responded to this review:
29 Dec 2014
Dear PearlynSea,

Thank you for your constructive feedback, which helps us pinpoint areas which we can improve.

We apologise that your experience was not up to expectations; QSFB is a popular place for celebrating birthdays, as we provide a free customized dessert to guests who celebrate with us at our unique waterfront location. Unfortunately, your reservation came just half an hour before you were due to arrive. We were already completely booked out that evening for a private event. Despite this, our staff tried their best to get you a seat.

We know that birthdays are important- they are to us too- so again we apologise for your experience. From now, if spare seats are not available for lady's handbags, bag hooks are provided. We wish you a happy belated birthday, and though you have mentioned you will not return, should you change your mind, kindly look for me and I will ensure that you have a fantastic time.

warm regards,
Ash
Area General Manager
21 Sep 2014 • 1 review • 0 follower

Uninspiring

One of the most disappointing breakfast alternative to Kith which was full house. 

The fully monty brekkie was truly the most bland looking and uninspiring meal. A dollop of baked beans and slice bread and tasteless sautéed mushrooms, chalk textured sausage. If anywhere can't even cook a simple sausage well.. It's simply not worth anything else. Only the scrambled eggs were decent. 

Fail! 
The management of Quayside Fish Bar & Bistro responded to this review:
30 Sep 2014
Hi Noel,

Thanks for taking the time out to give us your constructive feedback. Your comments on the full monty breakfast, and in particular the sausages are noted - our head chef is now offering excellent grilled gourmet sausages.

We understand taste is subjective, and Quayside Fish Bar & Bistro has a proviso that should a guest be unsatisfied with his/her order, a fresh order will be made.

We hope that you will be back to try our well-loved fish and seafood items that are popular, and trust you will not be disappointed with your choice.

warm regards,
Ash
General Manager