HungryGoWhere Singapore Food Guide, Restaurants, Eating Guide and Reviews - HGW
Search the site
50%100%14 votes

Rumah Makan Minang

AsianHalalIndonesianMalayMalay / IndonesianMalaysian
Located at Kandahar Street, Rumah Makan Minang serves Malay food and Nasi Padang.

Daily: 08:00 - 18:00

+65 62944805
$7 based on 14 submissions
Lunch (5 votes), Vibrant/Noisy (4 votes)
amin mohamad

authentic

I have tried alot of malay food as i grow up eating these food. This place have nice malay food.

The only set back is the place is cramp , but the food is good and reasonable price. Only hope it open on sunday.

The HGW community like this place for...

Community submitted Favourites:
Overall
Based on 14 votes
Food/Drink
Value
Ambience
Service
16 Apr 2014 • 1 review • 0 follower

taste yes, but not generous at all

We just had lunch there albeit the fact that it was cramped. Also we were told that there was table upstairs after waiting for a while but when we went up it was full. We dont mind actually coz we heard the food is good.

We ordered for 6 pax. The amount given for each dish was really sad. Two fishballs in one, and only one piece of chicken rendang in another plate. Two small scoops of veg and sotong. Including 6 lime juice, it costs 42 dollars.

Well if the price is that expensive it is fine. But come on one piece of rendang chicken to be shared by 6 people? 

Definitely will not visit this place again.
18 Oct 2013 • 1 review • 0 follower

Disappointed

After being voted 5 best nasi padang in singapore and reading the write up about how good the nasi padang was, I head on down to Rumah Makan Minang today only to find out not only the food was horrible, i felt cheated. I had ordered 3 packets of rice, 2 were for my office colleagues and the other was for myself.

1.  First packet was  1 fried chickent with sayur lodeh - The fried chicken was hard and there was no vegetables.  There was only gravy on the rice.  I was charged $4.70 for actually 1 fried chicken. 

2.  Second packet ordered was 1 fried chicken with kentang belado.  Was given 1 chicken wing with kentang belado.  I could count the kentang given.  There were only 4 kentang with very miserble sum of ikan bilis.  Was charged $4.20

3.  Third packet ordered was 1 beef renday with 1 begedil and sambal goreng.  Beef was very very small.  The sambal goreng was tasty.  Begedil was disppointing. Was charged $6.20

I'm not concern about the price but if we're going to be charged high, then the quality of food must be good.   Furthermore, after eating, we all felt very thirsty....must be the msg that's making us thirsty.

I feel bad for my friends as I had convinced them that the food was good.

This will be our first and last time that we will patronise Rumah Makan Minang.  I will not recommend it to anyone else.  I've tasted better nasi padang and much much cheaper. 

Don't be deceived by the photos on their website.  Nothing taste as good as it looks.




14 Oct 2012 • 56 reviews • 0 follower

Tasted like someone accidentally poured too much salt

(Note: The full review and pictures can be found here http://wildchildurbancity.blogspot.sg/2012/10/rumah-makan-minang.html)

After reading a review of Rumah Makan Mining on ieatishootipost, I dragged my father to its location at Kandahar Street to da-pao some food for dinner. I had high hopes as I have been looking for a cheaper alternative to my favourite Tambuah Mas.

That afternoon, there were lots of food stalls and a huge crowd right outside Rumah Makan Minang. As such it was hard to take a picture of the cafe-front and the interior. Plus, anyway, I was more focussed on quickly ordering the food as it was already quickly running out at 3pm! (I had wanted to try their tahu telor but a lady in front of me had ordered the last plate).

The first dish that I dug into was the beef rendang. According to one of the owners of Rumah Makan Minang, as interviewed by ieatishootipost, their beef rendang is close to the authentic Minangkabau version. I am not at all sure what that is supposed to taste like, but the gravy that came with this beef rendang was packed with salt. The beef was tender, but the dish was too saltish, and I reckon not spicy enough.

Who thought sayur lodeh could be overly-saltish too. My parents refused to eat this. The only thing I liked was the mix of vegetables it came with.

With the amount of red chilli heaped on the ikan belado merah, I was hoping for some heat. But they must have used big red chillis because it was not spicy at all, and again very saltish. The fish tasted like average fried fish.

The same red chilli marinate was used for the ayam belado merah. The chicken flesh itself tasted alright after we removed the chilli marinade.We also had mackeral fish with the same red chilli marinade. Unfortunately these were the few food items that were left for purchase.

...
11 Aug 2012 • 1 review • 0 follower

Dishonest worker

Peg Lazaroo   : 11th August 2012 I patronised the restaurant at 12pm today and i had a very unpleasant experience. One of the workers serving me was blatantly dishonest. I asked him for a single serving of the sotong masak hitam and he told me that it was S$6 a serving and insisted that was the price. I recalled that it costs S$3 a serving last week but thought maybe i had made a mistake. I checked later and found out that it ACTUALLY costs S$3 per serving as shown on their website http://www.minang.sg/menus.htmlhttp://www.minang.sg/menus.html . I am furious that he told me a outright LIE and have begin to wonder whether i have overpaid in the past. They do not issue receipts - so that you can\'t dispute the bill, perhaps. Well, if you ever go there, make sure that you check the price lists on the wall and double check the bill in case you get FLEECED!

11 August 2012 at 13:48

21 Jan 2011 • 8 reviews • 1 follower

What a ripoff.

Basically the food is overpriced.

Nuff said

Cold

What else is there to say. Will regret once tried.

The management of Rumah Makan Minang responded to this review:
23 Aug 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,



We appreciate your feedback. We want customers to enjoy eating at Rumah Makan Minang, so your report of a disturbing experience with one of our staff is a serious concern for us. First, let us express our deepest apologies.



The personnel involved has only started work for a week and was unaware of our policy on pricing. He has received further training.



Yes our Sotong Hitam dish per serving is indeed $3. We know the incident must have been very unpleasant for you. Please contact us at 62944805 so that we look forward to serving you more efficiently in the future. Again, our sincere apologies.