HungryGoWhere Singapore Food Guide, Restaurants, Eating Guide and Reviews - HGW
Search the site
58%100%21 votes

The Chinese Feast

AsianChineseSichuan
The Chinese Feast - Chong Qing Hot Pot is one of the pioneers for steamboats here in Singapore, with choices of 2 soup bases as well as 4 different sauces to go with their food.

Daily: 12:00 - 15:00

Daily: 18:00 - 22:30

+65 63376921
$33 based on 21 submissions
Large Groups/Gathering (10 votes), Dinner (9 votes), Lunch (9 votes)
DanielFoodDiary

The Pioneer Steamboat in Singapore

Steamboats are everywhere now – Geylang, Chinatown, Tan Quee Lan, Kitchener Road. Hotpots are associated with winter season, but yet springing up in perpetual HOT summer Singapore.

Options are plenty, but quality (and hygience) may be otherwise. But Chong Qing Hotpot, a renowned pioneer in Singapore since 1993, still remains one of the most popular.

The buffet dinner is priced at $30.90++ during weekends. It’s almost double the price of those offered at nearby Bugis, but the added service and consistent quality makes the eating affair more worthwhile.

5 Ways to Enjoy Your Chong Qing Hotpot @ Suntec

1) Select 2 choices of soup: Ma-La, Faithful Chicken, or Preserved Sour Vegetable. My recommended are the first two.  To prevent my buds from getting too numb, I go for a 80% chicken broth/20% spicy combination.

2) Dip your thin sliced meat into the four different sauces: sesame seed base, sesame oil, sweet chilli and chilli with garlic for that additional kick.

3) To ease that buffet guilt, add lots of vegetables and mushroom (especially yummy soft Golden Mushroom) to balance that oily intake.

4) Save space for the complimentary one standard serving of Sliced Salmon, Fu Zhou Fish Balls, New Zealand Mussels, Sliced Squid with Abalone Sauce and Chicken Sausage (well, maybe you can leave this out.) The dishes came quite late after we are almost done eating!

5) Save MORE space for some fried items such as Meat & Chives Dumpling, Fried Buns and Cripsy Spring Roll which came at the end of the meal. Eat it before you call Surrender. You can give the Xiao Long Bao a miss if you mind the thick skin.

The meal came up close to $40 per person (pricey for a poor person like me). I did enjoy the experience though – an opportunity for good friends to gather and friendly service from aunties who can’t wait to stack up your table with plates of meat.

The Verdict

Hot pot, Hot soup, Hot food… but High price.

More available at http://blog.omy.sg/danielang/archives/475

 

The HGW community like this place for...

Community submitted Favourites:
Overall
Based on 21 votes
Food/Drink
Value
Ambience
Service
18 Feb 2012 • 1 review • 0 follower

If you like your stoved turned off or rushed out even if you have ordered food

*Edit* Note that instead of apologizing for their mistakes, the management has instead chosen to get this negative review removed. One would wonder how many negative reviews this restaurant has received and removed! Readers beware!

Introduction


I have eaten at Chong Qing Hot Pot @ Suntec multiple times in the past. The last time was about a year ago. I am fond of "normal" food (e.g. pork, fishball) so this establishment is perfect for my taste.

I am getting married soon and so am planning a meet-up and makan session with my "brothers". I decided that a good experience would be at this restaurant, so I decided to search online for a contact number to make a booking. I stumbled upon the review by Clarissa on 07 Nov 2010 but shrugged it off as one of the rare cases of bad service that probably happens at all restaurants.

Food/Soup

The default broth used for the steamboat was above average. It's a little salty but nevertheless rather flavourful. We selected the default chicken broth and spicy broth as our soup base even though the waitress serving us kept recommending us to take their special $15 soup. I'm not sure that any broth is worth $15 - which could get me a decent steamboat dinner in bugis.

The food choices were numerous but rather common (which I am fond of). The sausages were limited to one serving only and there were no chicken or fish choices. However the beef slice and pork bellies were good. We were also served with two plates of Eamame (which cost $3 per plate now) and I have the same complain as Clarissa (which was not addressed by management in their response to her).

Service

The dinner was supposed to be an happy event with me giving a dinner treat to my brothers. I made a booking at 6:15pm on 3rd December and arrived at approx 6:10pm. One of my brothers was late and only arrived at 6:40pm. We made several individual orders of beef and pork slices to prevent wastage. The waitress kept turning off our stove and we had to keep telling them that we have meat orders incoming. Finally at about 7:45pm, one of the managers grumbled to us, telling us that there are people waiting outside and questioned us when we were going to finish our food. As it was supposed to be a pleasant event, I did not wish to persue it and kept quiet.

As we were waiting for our dish, she came back and started clearing our dish noisly while continuing her complains (the boy waiting outside is hungry, etc). She also told the waitress to send us the bill even though we did not ask for it. Despite that, I kept quiet because I just wanted to finish the previous orders we had made, pay up and leave.

When I saw my friend having to stuff 3 beef slices into his mouth to avoid interrupting her clearing the plates, I go upset and told the manager that if they had a time limit policy they should have told us upfront and we would NOT have come. I also stated that we were NOT just sitting in front of the tables chatting - we were cooking AND eating as is outright obvious from the orders we had made and the food we were cooking. Instead, she had complained in front of my guests in order to get us to leave as soon as possible.

Mind you, with the numerous round of drinks we ordered, the bill came up to about $50 per person. At that price, wouldn't anyone expect a semi-decent attitude or patience from a waitress?

The manager DID NOT apologize - she simply walked off after saying that we could "sit a little while" after paying the bill. That was simply salt on the wound. I would however credit the waitress giving me the bill for repeatedly apologizing on her behalf even though I have calmly told her that there is no fault of hers. This seemed incredulous to me because it would typically be the manager with more sense.

I would not return to that place again.

The management of The Chinese Feast responded to this review:
21 Feb 2012
Dear Mr. Tan



We Apologise for the inconvience you encountered during your meal, we are looking into the matter seriously and are presently looking the matter at hand.
04 Feb 2012 • 1 review • 0 follower

If you like to be rushed or have your stove turned off even if you have ordered food

I came here to give a treat to my brothers before my wedding. We started eating at 6:15. The waitress kept turning off our stove and we had to keep telling them that we have meat orders incoming. Finally at about 7:45pm, one of the managers grumbled to us, telling us that there are people waiting outside and questioned us when we were going to finish our food. As it was supposed to be a pleasant event, I did not wish to persue it and kept quiet.

As we were waiting for our dish, she came back and started clearing our dish noisly while continuing her complains (the boy waiting outside is hungry, etc). She also told the waitress to send us the bill even though we did not ask for it.

She continued complainining in front of my guests in order to get us to leave as soon as possible.

If you want to pay $50 for this kind of service, feel free. Furthermore, the management kept deleting my negative review on HungryGoWhere. This shows their attitude when receiving bad feedback.
02 May 2011 • 1 review • 0 follower

Totall not worth to go there

I went there with my hubby and baby as a walk in diners on 1st May.

After the long explanation from one of the attendance , we tried the soup, the

chicken soup is very bad, taste nothing like chicken at all.

Not much variety to choose from( no fish fillet , no crab ) and we need to wait long time to make the order ( for more dishes for buffet ) and long time to deliver . They are just interested prepare for new customers ...not top up the dishes.

Price is very expensive for two person abt $$85 ...really really not worth the money.

18 Jan 2011 • 26 reviews • 0 follower

Good value for money

I'm a regular customer of this outlet and its probably one of the places that I'd think of first when it comes to steamboat.

The selection of food is awesome and there's even a free dessert at the end of the meal.

Use your DBS/POSB credit card for payment and receive vouchers for the next visit.
27 Dec 2010 • 13 reviews • 0 follower

Hotpot rush!

I have been here once for a set lunch steamboat and I love it! I'm a huge fan of their mala soup! It really numbs your tongue! Their set lunch includes lots of veggies, meat, prawns, etc. But it is more than enough for me! They also serve some dim sum and sweet pastries as part of the buffet. It was nice but the pastries were too sweet for me and frankly speaking, I came to eat steamboat not dim sum so I would rather they give me more ingredients for the steamboat than dim sum!

The time that I went was not very crowded so the service was alright! They even help you to throw in the wanton sort of thing to cook! Very nice of them! Oh! You can drink their liang teh to cool down after a whole potful of mala soup. Price wise, it was a tad too expensive :(