Information

Address
Asian, Chinese, Sichuan
+65 63376921

Daily: 12:00 - 15:00

Daily: 18:00 - 22:30

$33 based on 21 submissions
Large Groups/Gathering (10 votes), Dinner (9 votes), Lunch (9 votes) ...

The Chinese Feast - Chong Qing Hot Pot is one of the pioneers for steamboats here in Singapore, with choices of 2 soup bases as well as 4 different sauces to go with their food.

What others are eating here

Start of the spread
Start of the spread
Sticky sweetuation
Sticky sweetuation
Fry me to the moon
Fry me to the moon
  • Desserts consisting Fried man-tou and fried nian-gao. 1 vote
  • Desserts! 1 vote
  • Fried man-tou with milk 1 vote
  • dumpling 1 vote
  • fish glue 1 vote
  • fried man-toh 1 vote
  • fried mantou 1 vote
  • mantou 1 vote
  • xiao long bao 1 vote

Latest Review for The Chinese Feast

Overall RatingBased on 21 reviews
Food/Drink3
Value2.5
Ambience2.7
Service2.9
Most helpful review:

Chong Qing Hot Pot When You Need Something Hearty, Something Healthy

Food/Drink 3 | Value 2 | Ambience 2 | Service 3
Total Reviews: 36

After dining at the Tanglin Shopping Center branch a year back, I was all excited to try the Suntec outlet. For once I was craving for some hearty goodness only found in a hot pot buffet. However, apart from the fantastic location at Suntec, Tanglin had a more cozy old village feel. The Suntec outlet was design to be a modern affair, but I was not too keen to have ugly masks looking down at me while I was dining. We ate here on a Friday night. Fortunately we had phone reservations as it was completely full. I suppose if you came on a weekday you would not experience the same claustrophobia as I did.

I must applaud the waiters. Considering it was such a busy outlet, they tried their best to be prompt in their service, and did a great job of it. We had both the chicken broth and the spicy soup, which turned out to be very hot, oily, but not that flavorful. This was just the regular spicy. Among all the items which we tried, the best must have been the dumpling. One of their popular items was the fish paste which was essentially flattened on a plate and required a technique to put it into the water. I suppose mom cooks a much better steamboat and fish paste that it did not give me any 'wow' factor.

Given that it is one of the cheaper buffets around on a weekend and definitely the healthiest, it would be still a preferred place to dine when I wanted to eat a lot and not worry about the calories, as you are mostly eating lots of vegetables and slice beef or fish in a broth. Probably the most unhealthy would be their 'special' dessert which was fried man-toh with condensed milk, and you are only entitled to have one of it!

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

If you like your stoved turned off or rushed out even if you have ordered food

Food/Drink 1 | Value 1 | Ambience 1 | Service 1
Total Review: 1

*Edit* Note that instead of apologizing for their mistakes, the management has instead chosen to get this negative review removed. One would wonder how many negative reviews this restaurant has received and removed! Readers beware!

Introduction


I have eaten at Chong Qing Hot Pot @ Suntec multiple times in the past. The last time was about a year ago. I am fond of "normal" food (e.g. pork, fishball) so this establishment is perfect for my taste.

I am getting married soon and so am planning a meet-up and makan session with my "brothers". I decided that a good experience would be at this restaurant, so I decided to search online for a contact number to make a booking. I stumbled upon the review by Clarissa on 07 Nov 2010 but shrugged it off as one of the rare cases of bad service that probably happens at all restaurants.

Food/Soup

The default broth used for the steamboat was above average. It's a little salty but nevertheless rather flavourful. We selected the default chicken broth and spicy broth as our soup base even though the waitress serving us kept recommending us to take their special $15 soup. I'm not sure that any broth is worth $15 - which could get me a decent steamboat dinner in bugis.

The food choices were numerous but rather common (which I am fond of). The sausages were limited to one serving only and there were no chicken or fish choices. However the beef slice and pork bellies were good. We were also served with two plates of Eamame (which cost $3 per plate now) and I have the same complain as Clarissa (which was not addressed by management in their response to her).

Service

The dinner was supposed to be an happy event with me giving a dinner treat to my brothers. I made a booking at 6:15pm on 3rd December and arrived at approx 6:10pm. One of my brothers was late and only arrived at 6:40pm. We made several individual orders of beef and pork slices to prevent wastage. The waitress kept turning off our stove and we had to keep telling them that we have meat orders incoming. Finally at about 7:45pm, one of the managers grumbled to us, telling us that there are people waiting outside and questioned us when we were going to finish our food. As it was supposed to be a pleasant event, I did not wish to persue it and kept quiet.

As we were waiting for our dish, she came back and started clearing our dish noisly while continuing her complains (the boy waiting outside is hungry, etc). She also told the waitress to send us the bill even though we did not ask for it. Despite that, I kept quiet because I just wanted to finish the previous orders we had made, pay up and leave.

When I saw my friend having to stuff 3 beef slices into his mouth to avoid interrupting her clearing the plates, I go upset and told the manager that if they had a time limit policy they should have told us upfront and we would NOT have come. I also stated that we were NOT just sitting in front of the tables chatting - we were cooking AND eating as is outright obvious from the orders we had made and the food we were cooking. Instead, she had complained in front of my guests in order to get us to leave as soon as possible.

Mind you, with the numerous round of drinks we ordered, the bill came up to about $50 per person. At that price, wouldn't anyone expect a semi-decent attitude or patience from a waitress?

The manager DID NOT apologize - she simply walked off after saying that we could "sit a little while" after paying the bill. That was simply salt on the wound. I would however credit the waitress giving me the bill for repeatedly apologizing on her behalf even though I have calmly told her that there is no fault of hers. This seemed incredulous to me because it would typically be the manager with more sense.

I would not return to that place again.

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
The management of The Chinese Feast responded to this review:
21 Feb 2012
Dear Mr. Tan

We Apologise for the inconvience you encountered during your meal, we are looking into the matter seriously and are presently looking the matter at hand.

If you like to be rushed or have your stove turned off even if you have ordered food

Food/Drink 1 | Value 1 | Ambience 1 | Service 1
Total Review: 1

I came here to give a treat to my brothers before my wedding. We started eating at 6:15. The waitress kept turning off our stove and we had to keep telling them that we have meat orders incoming. Finally at about 7:45pm, one of the managers grumbled to us, telling us that there are people waiting outside and questioned us when we were going to finish our food. As it was supposed to be a pleasant event, I did not wish to persue it and kept quiet.

As we were waiting for our dish, she came back and started clearing our dish noisly while continuing her complains (the boy waiting outside is hungry, etc). She also told the waitress to send us the bill even though we did not ask for it.

She continued complainining in front of my guests in order to get us to leave as soon as possible.

If you want to pay $50 for this kind of service, feel free. Furthermore, the management kept deleting my negative review on HungryGoWhere. This shows their attitude when receiving bad feedback.

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

Add to List

Create New List
Create